Regional Delegation for East Asia

The ICRC Regional Delegation for East Asia covers China, the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK), the Republic of Korea (ROK) and Mongolia. The delegation was initially established in 1987 in Hong Kong and from 1996 was based in Bangkok. In 2005 the delegation moved to Beijing.

The delegation's main focus is to promote awareness and implementation of international humanitarian law, the legal framework that seeks to minimize human suffering caused by war. The delegation also aims to familiarize governments, experts, National Red Cross Societies and civil society with the ICRC's humanitarian work and emergency response around the world. Joint ICRC-National Red Cross Societies physical rehabilitation projects in China and in the DPRK provide direct services to vulnerable groups.


To view more information, please click the PDF file:

Regional Delegation for East Asia

PDF file
2.93 MB