31 March 2021 - 31 May 2021

The Paul Reuter Prize on International Humanitarian Law 2021 - Call for Applications

The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) is pleased to announce that it is now receiving applications for the 12th edition of the Paul Reuter Prize on International Humanitarian Law.

About the event

Paul Reuter Fund

The Paul Reuter Fund was created in 1983 thanks to a donation made to the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) by the late Paul Reuter, Honorary Professor at the University of Paris and member of the Institut de droit international. One of the Fund's purposes is to finance the Paul Reuter Prize.

The Paul Reuter Prize, in the amount of 5,000 Swiss francs, is generally awarded every three years for a major work in the sphere of international humanitarian law.


Under the Regulations of the Paul Reuter Prize, any work submitted must fulfil the following conditions:

  • its aim must be to enhance knowledge or understanding of international humanitarian law;
  • it must have been published after 1st January 2018 or be in final proof at the time of the submission of the application. Completed doctoral theses may also be submitted even not yet published;
  • it must be written in English, French or Spanish.

Applications must include:

  • a brief curriculum vitae;
  • a list of the applicant's publications;
  • three unabridged copies of the work submitted.


Authors whose work meets the above requirements may send their applications no later than 31 May 2021.

Applications for the Paul Reuter Prize should be sent to:

Chairman of the Committee of the Paul Reuter Fund
International Committee of the Red Cross
c/o Legal Division
19, Avenue de la Paix
1202 Geneva

Deadline for submission: 31 May 2021


The Paul Reuter Prize consists of a certificate of recognition and a financial award of 5,000 Swiss francs. In case two laureates are selected, the award will be equally divided among the laureates.

The winner(s) of the Paul Reuter Prize will be announced in the Fall 2021.


11th Paul Reuter Prize Laureates - Prof. Grignon and Prof. Hill-Cawthorn presenting their respective books on « L'applicabilité temporelle du droit international humanitaire » and "Detention in Non-International Armed Conflict" in the award ceremony panel with Dr. Quintin, Prof. Kolb and Dr. Bugnion.

(click here for more info)


The Prize will be awarded for the twelfth time in 2021.

The Prize has been awarded eleven times so far, to the following authors: Dr. Mohammed El Kouhène (1985), Dr. Heather A. Wilson (1988), Dr. Edward K. Kwakwa and Mr. Alejandro Valencia Villa (1991), Prof. Eric David (1994), Prof. Geoffrey Best and Major General A.P.V. Rogers (1997), Dr. Ilias Bantekas (2000), Prof. Ruth Abril Stoffels (2003), Dr. Marten Zwanenburg (2006), Dr. Théo Boutruche (2009), Prof. Sandesh Siwakumaran (2012) and to Prof. Julia Grignon and Prof. Lawrence Hill-Cawthorne (2018).


Date & Time

31 March 2021 - 31 May 2021