• Send page
  • Print page

Composition of the International Committee of the Red Cross(as at 1 January 2001)

31-03-2001 Article, International Review of the Red Cross, No. 841

Jakob Kellenberger, president, Ph.D. of the University of Zurich, former Swiss Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs (1999, President since 2000).

Anne Petitpierre, vice-president, Doctor of Laws, barrister, Professor at the Law Faculty of the University of Geneva (1987).

 Jacques Forster, permanent vice-president, Doctor of Economics, Professor at the Graduate Institute of Development Studies in Geneva (1988, permanent Vice-President since 1 August 1999).

 Renée Guisan, General Secretary of the “Institut de la Vie international”, head of medico-social institutions, member of the International Association for Volunteer Effort (1986).

 Paolo Bernasconi, Bachelor of Laws, barrister, professor of fiscal law and economic criminal law at the Universities of St. Gallen, Zurich and Milan (Bocconi), former Public Prosecutor in Lugano (1987).

 Liselotte Kraus-Gurny, Doctor of Laws of Zurich University (1988).

 Susy Bruschweiler, nurse, former Director of the Swiss Red Cross College of Nursing in Aarau, Chairwoman of S-V Service Contract Catering (1988).

 Jacques Moreillon, Bachelor of Laws, Doctor of Political Science, Secretary-Gener al of the World Organization of the Scout Movement, former Director-General at the ICRC (1988).

 Daniel Thürer, Master of Laws (Cambridge), Doctor of Laws, Professor at the University of Zurich (1991).

 Jean-François Aubert, Doctor of Laws, former Professor at the University of Neuch‰tel, former member of the Swiss National Council and Council of States (1993).

 Georges-André Cuendet, Bachelor of Laws of the University of Geneva, graduate of the Institute of Political Studies of the University of Paris (France), Master of Arts of Stanford University (USA), former member of the Administrative Council of Cologny (Switzerland) (1993).

 Éric Roethlisberger, Doctor of Political Science of the Graduate Institute of International Studies in Geneva (1994, permanent Vice-President from 1995 to 31 July 1999).

 Ernst A. Brugger, Doctor of Natural Science, consultant for economic de-velopment issues, Professor at the University of Zurich (1995).

 Jean-Roger Bonvin, Doctor of Economics of the University of St. Gallen, former President of the Development Centre of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) in Paris (1996).

 Jakob Nüesch, Agricultural engineer, Doctor of Technical Science of the Federal Institute of Technology of Zurich, Professor of microbiology at the University of Basle, former President of the Federal Institute of Technology of Zurich (1997).

 Peter Arbenz, graduate in Economics, former Swiss Federal Council Delegate for Refugee Affairs, former Chairman of the Zurich branch of the Swiss Red Cross, consultant for Strategic and Enterprise Development (1983-1987, 1998).

 André von Moos, Doctor of Laws, Bachelor of Economics, SMP certificate of the Harvard Business School, former Chairman of the von Moos Group, industrialist (1998).

 Olivier Vodoz, Bachelor of Laws, barrister, former Deputy in the Geneva Grand Conseil and former President of the Conseil d’État of the Republic and Canton of Geneva (1998).

 Gabrielle Nanchen, Bachelor of Social Science from the University of Lausanne School of Social Studies, former member of the Swiss National Council (1998).

 Jean de Courten, Bachelor of Laws, former delegate and former Director of Operations at the ICRC (1998).

 Jean-Philippe Assal, Doctor of Medicine, Professor of Medicine, head of the Division for Instruction in the Treatment of Chronic Diseases at the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Geneva (1999).

 Jacqueline Avril, Doctor of Medicine of the University of Geneva, general practitioner, member of the Board and Secretary of the Council of the Medical Association of the Canton of Geneva (1999).

 Jean Abt, diplomas in agriculture and business, Lieutenant-General of the Swiss Army (rtd.) (2001).

Related sections