CEJ — ICRC Award for Humanitarian Reporting 2021

CEJ — ICRC Award for Humanitarian Reporting 2021

Article 12 July 2021 Pakistan

The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) and the Centre for Excellence in Journalism (CEJ-IBA) are excited to announce that applications for the 2021 Humanitarian Reporting Award are now open.

Access to factual, contextualized and locally relevant news, particularly before, during or after a humanitarian emergency, not only allows accountability through two-way communication between crisis responders and affected communities, but can also save lives.

The ICRC joined hands with CEJ in 2017 to establish the "Humanitarian Reporting Initiative", an engagement and training project in Pakistan for local media professionals to provide the support, networking and skills needed to perform their duties effectively and responsibly during a humanitarian emergency. Each year, the Humanitarian Reporting Award recognizes accurate, ethical and responsible reporting on humanitarian issues in Pakistan.

The award, open to all journalists in Pakistan, will focus on work produced in the field of humanitarian reporting in the following four categories:

  • Mainstream Broadcast (Urdu and regional languages)
  • Mainstream Print (Urdu and regional languages)
  • Mainstream Print (English)
  • Online (English, Urdu and regional languages)

The winners in each category will be awarded Rs 100,000 each, while the runners-up will receive Rs 80,000 each.

The participants can send their stories or packages on humanitarian issues published or produced during the time period of 29 September 2020 to 6 September 2021. Ideally, these should be stories with a focus on a specific humanitarian issue, including, but not limited to, violence against health care, disaster reporting, issues related to people with disabilities, disaster response and preparedness, population movement (refugees and internally displaced people) and the impact of climate change.

The award is open to all journalists, irrespective of their affiliation or employer, and the content would be judged for its originality and quality of work. Submissions will be considered in Urdu, English and regional languages. Where a byline is not given, the onus is on the applicant to prove that it's their work. Submit your entries before 6 September 2021 through the form available on the following link.