• Send page
  • Print page

Second plenary meeting

29-02-1996 Article, International Review of the Red Cross, No. 310

 26th International Conference of the Red Cross and Red Crescent  

 6 December 1995  

During the second plenary meeting, the Conference unanimously adopted an amendment to the Movement's Statutes and Rules of Procedure, replacing all references to the " League of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies " throughout the texts by " International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies " . This amendment had been adopted by the General Assembly of the Federation in 1991.

The report submitted by the Standing Commission of the Red Cross and Red Crescent and that of the Joint Commission of the Empress Shôken Fund were adopted by acclamation.


 Election of five members of the Standing Commission  

Also during that meeting, the delegations elected the five National Society members of the Standing Commission. It will be recalled that the nine-member Standing Commission is composed of two members of the ICRC, two from the International Federation and five members elected in a personal capacity.

The 26th Conference elected the following five members of the Standing Commission from a slate of 13 candidates. They are (in descending ord er of number of votes received):


 H.R.H. Princess Margriet of the Netherlands, Vice-President of the Netherlands Red Cross;

 Mrs Christina Magnuson, President of the Swedish Red Cross;

 Dr Guillermo Rueda Montaña, President of the Colombian Red Cross;

 Mr Tadateru Konoe, Vice-President of the Japanese Red Cross

 Mr Byron Reuben Hove, National Chairman of the Zimbabwe Red Cross, former Vice-Chairman of the Standing Commission.

The four other members of the Standing Commission are:


 Mr Cornelio Sommaruga, President of the International Committee of the Red Cross;

 Mr Mario Villaroel Lander, President of the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies;

 Mr Yves Sandoz, Director of the ICRC s Department for Principles, Law and Relations with the Movement;

 Mr George Weber, Secretary General of the International Federation.

During the first meeting of the new Standing Commission on 7 September, Princess Margriet of the Netherlands and Mr Hove were elected Chairwoman and Vice-Chairman respectively.

The next meeting of the Commission will he held in Geneva in January 1996.