Archived page: may contain outdated information!
  • Send page
  • Print page

International Advisers of the ICRC, 2008 - 2011


The purpose of the group of International Advisers, set up by the ICRC for a four-year period to provide it with counsel and support in its activities and policy decisions, is to seek appropriate ways to enhance respect for IHL in armed conflicts, to help the ICRC better understand and deal with the political issues it encounters in carrying out its mandate and to assist it in analysing the environment for humanitarian endeavour.

The 2008-2011 group follows on six previous groups of Advisers that have assisted the ICRC since 1984. It meets twice a year for confidential discussions with members of the ICRC Assembly and Directorate. It is composed of twelve people with confirmed international experience:

 Ms Maruja Milagros B. Asis (Philippines)

PhD in Sociology (Bowling Green State University, 1989). Director of Research and Publications at the Scalabrini Migration Centre. Associate editor of Asian and Pacific Migration Journal and Co-Editor of Asian Migration News. Former associate Professor at the Department of Sociology, University of the Philippines.

 Mr Jan Eliasson (Sweden)

Until July 1, 2008 Special Envoy of the United Nations Secretary-General for Darfur. Jan Eliasson has a distinguished career as Swedish diplomat and finishing as Minister for Foreign Affairs in 2006. Eliasson was the President of the UN General Assembly 2005-06. Eliasson was the Swedish Ambassador to Washington 2000-05, State Secretary for Foreign Affairs 1994-2000 and UN Under-Secretary General for Humanitarian Affairs, 1992-94. Earlier, 1988-1992, he was Sweden’s Ambassador to the United Nations in New York.

 Mr Amara Essy (Côte d'Ivoire)

Secretary-general of the Organisation of African Unity (2001 - 2002). Minister of State, Minister of Foreign Affairs in Charge of International Cooperation (1998 – 2000). Minister of Foreign Affairs (1990 – 1998). Permanent Representative to the United Nations, and Ambassador Extraordinary for Argentina and Cuba (1982 – 1990).

 Sir Mike Jackson (United Kingdom)

General (retired). Consultant for various security firms (since 2007). Chief of the General Staff (2003–2006). Commander-in-Chief, Land Command (2000–2003). KFOR Commander (1999). Commander of the Allied Rapid Reaction Corps (1997 - 1999).

 Mr Rami G. Khouri (Jordan)

Director of the Issam Fares Institute for Public Policy and International Affairs, American University of Beirut (since 2006). Editor-at-large and Executive editor of The Daily Star, Beirut (since 2003). Editor-in-Chief of The Jordan Times (1975 – 1982 and 1987 – 1988). Non-resident senior fello at JFK School of Government at Harvard University, and Dubai School of Government (since 2007).

 Mrs Irina Kobrinskaya (Russian Federation)

Leading Research Fellow, Institute of World Economy and International Relations, Russian Academy Of Sciences (since 2002). Executive Director of the Foundation for Prospective Studies and Initiatives (since 2002). Director, Moscow Centre, New York East-West Institute (1998 – 2001). Researcher and Programme Co-ordinator " Russia and Its Neighbours " , Moscow Carnegie Centre (1994 – 1997).

 Mrs Sonia Picado (Costa Rica)

Doctor in Law. President of the Board of the Inter-American Institute of Human Rights (IAIHR). Chair of the UNHCHR's International Commission of Inquiry on East Timor (1999). Ambassadress to the United States (1994 – 1998). Judge and Vice-Chair of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights (1988 – 1994). Executive director of the IAIHR (1984 – 1994). Former dean of the Law School, University of Costa Rica. Former Member of Congress and President of the National Liberation Party of Costa Rica.

 Mr William Howard Taft IV (USA)

Professor of international law and diplomacy at Stanford Law School, California (since 2007). Chief legal advisor to the Department of State (2001 – 2005). Permanent Representative to NATO (1989 - 1992). Acting Secretary of Defense (1989) and Deputy Secretary of Defense (1984 – 1989). Former Barrister.

 Mrs Yu Xintian (China)

Professor. Director of the Centre of Ethnic, Religion & Culture Studies, Shanghai Institute for International Studies (SIIS). President of the SIIS (2001 - 2007). Vice-president of the Shanghai Academy of Social Science (SASS, 1994 - 2000), Director of the Institute of Asia-Pacific Studies, SASS (1992 – 1994).

 Mr Sabah Zanganeh (Iran)

Doctor. Advisor to the Head of the Judiciary. Special adviser on Arab Affairs at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (1980').

Related sections